Sza Is In CTRL

Sza.jpg

 

“That is my greatest fear. If I lost control or did not have control, things would just, you know, I would be fatal.” Top Dawg Entertainment first lady Sza just released her debut album entitled Ctrl. From breakup to makeup to moving on is what this album sounds like. In between certain songs you a hear skits from Sza mother and grandmother giving advice about everyday life. When I hear Sza voice I hear the consciousness of Erykah Badu, the intelligence of Mary J. Blige and sex appeal of Billie Holiday.  This album is Neo Soul, Alternative and Hip Hop. Songs “like Doves In The Wind,” “Go Gina” and “Broken Clocks” are my favorites on this album. Make sure you listen to “Normal Girl.” The guitar solo at the end is impressive. On the song “Supermodel” Sza sings “I could be your supermodel, if you believe me, if you see it in me, see it in me, see it in me.” Hey Sza, I see it in you. Inbox me so we can have brunch. At the end of the song Garden, Sza grandmother gives her a little insight about haters. She says “you ain’t shit to say to me, I ain’t got shit to say to you. and step on. you black heffer you. you stand your ground. cause I feel the same way. if you don’t like me, you don’t have to fool with me. but you don’t have to talk about me or treat me mean and I don’t have to treat you mean. I just stay out of your way. that’s how you work that one.” This album will be in Billboard top ten within a month.

I rated the songs I liked by an asterisk. 5 being the highest.

Supermodel****

Love Galore****

Doves In The Wind*****

Drew Barrymore***

Prom****

The Weekend*****

Go Gina*****

Garden (Say It Like Dat)****

Broken Clocks*****

Anything***

Wavy (Interlude)****

Normal Girl****

Pretty Little Birds*****

20 Something

 

Photo By: The Come Up Show

 

Leave a Reply

